Richard L. Brodsky Scholarship for Public Service

Richard L. Brodsky
Richard L. Brodsky

The late Richard L. Brodsky, a 14-term assemblyman from Westchester, served the lower Hudson Valley community for 27 years, and represented the conscience of the legislature from 1983 until his retirement in 2010. SUNY Empire State established the Richard L. Brodsky Scholarship for Public Service in 2020, following his passing.  Brodsky was a formidable figure in the Legislature and an advocate for all New Yorkers. Throughout his career, he became a mentor to many, including former SUNY Chancellor and SUNY Empire President Jim Malatras, who began his career as a public policy analyst in Brodsky’s office.  The selected recipient will be awarded $1,200 to be used for tuition, books, or other educational expenses.

Eligibility Requirements

SUNY Empire undergraduate students interested in applying will have:

  • Demonstrated a commitment to careers in public service upon graduation
  • Evidence of leadership ability
  • GPA of 3.0 or above

Application and Selection Process

To apply for this scholarship, students must first complete the general application through the SUNY Empire Foundation Application for Scholarships Tool. In addition, students must submit a personal essay stating their goals for a career in public service and how a degree from SUNY Empire will help them advance those goals. Applications are due by June 30 at

Support the Scholarship

We are grateful to the generous donors to the Richard L. Brodsky Scholarship for Public Service:

  • Anonymous
  • Joseph Adelman
  • Suzanne M. Berger
  • Canestrari for Assembly Committee
  • Leslie Cecil
  • Marcos Crespo
  • Michael DenDekker
  • RoAnn Destito
  • Christopher Duryea
  • Jamar Farmer Koonce
  • Joseph Fuld
  • Greenburgh Democratic Town Committee
  • Tom Grunfeld
  • Jeff Guillot
  • Andrew Kessler
  • Abraham Lackman
  • Allison Lee
  • Abby Levine
  • Mark L. Levine
  • Jonathan Lipshutz
  • Christine MacMillan
  • Kelly MacMillan
  • Jim Malatras
  • Matthew Millea
  • Neimand Collaborative
  • People for Brodsky
  • Steven Polan
  • Anna Pycior
  • William S. Robins
  • John Rousakis
  • Krista Rycroft
  • Asher Safvi
  • Kent Sopris
  • Daniel and Sandy Stoller
  • Jay Summerson
  • Richard G. Wishnie

Make a donation to the Richard L. Brodsky Scholarship for Public Service at

Questions? Call 800-847-3000, ext. 2769 or email


We are always happy to hear from alumni, students and other friends of the university.

For general inquiries, dial extension 2248.
Our fax number is (518) 580-0700.